Science Fiction

Join us as we host panel discussions, cover wars, and more. If you’re an author or blogger, be sure to register today for the science-fiction genre events! Readers can tune in during the con and visit our author booths and blog hops when they are posted. You will not want to miss out on the simulation.

Live Events

Worldbuilding Panels

Our talented Sci-Fi authors come together for a discussion on how they built the worlds of their books and what readers will find there. Offered 4 different times over the weekend. (Limit 5 per time slot, Mar 5 event is fully booked.) Find out more.

Artificial Intelligence Panel

March 5th at 4 pm EST/ 9 pm GMT/ March 6th 8 am AEDT

Join other authors to discuss artificial intelligence in your own work and beyond. FULL

Building Better Aliens

Mar 5 6PM EST/11PM GMT/Mar 7 10AM AEDT

All too often the aliens in science fiction are either humans with bad nose jobs or make no sense biologically. This panel will explore the science and logic of making realistic alien species for use in science fiction. What do you chaps think? (Limit 5)  Sign up now.

Pity You Can’t Publish It: Remastering Fan Fic Panel

March 5th 8PM EST / March 6th 1AM GMT / 12PM AEDT

So you’ve written a great fan fic but you know it’s a dead end because of copyright or is it. Tricks and ways that a fan fic can be cut up and re-mastered into an ‘original’ work. Sign up now. (Limit 5)

Weapons and Armor

March 6, 5PM EST,10PM GMT/March 7th, 9AM AEDT

An examination of the historical and ongoing technological race between weapons and the equipment that makes them obsolete. (Limit 5) Sign up now. 

Steampunk: Don’t Just Stick a Cog on It (Please!) Panel

Mar 6 @9:30PM EST/Mar 7 1:30PM AEDT

Steampunk curious? Join Australian steampunk author, Karen J Carlisle, as she discusses steampunk and its many sub-genres, creating your own steampunk world, and what the ‘punk’ really means. (Two spots left) Sign up now.

Sci-Fi Dystopias – Worlds Upturned

March 7th 12PM EST / 5PM GMT

Whether it’s evil overlords, deadly viruses, utopias gone wrong, or just plain all hell breaking loose, dystopian stories have gained in popularity in recent years. Join other authors in discussing dystopian tropes. FULL

Mind Over Matter: Psychics and Telekinesis

March 7th at 2 pm EST/ 7 pm GMT/ March 8th at 6 am AEDT

Join other authors to discuss psychic abilities in sci-fi and in the stories you weave. Sign up now. (FULL)

Weekend-long Events

If enough people sign up, we will have Cover Wars for people to vote on their favorites. Winners receive a Business Fundamentals for Authors e-book and a special badge to display on their website and/or book cover.

There are also opportunities to have a pro record a snippet from your book that will air during the convention. Costs vary by reader. See the offerings here. 

Blog Hops

Join your fellow authors in writing posts about particular topics of interest. Bloggers can sign up to be hosts.

Sci-fi Beyond Earth Blog Hop-Launches March 4th at 5 am EST/ 10 am GMT/ 9 pm AEDT

Sci-fi Apocalypse Wow- Launches March 4th at 5 am EST/ 10 am GMT/ 9 pm AEDT

Sci-fi Top 5’s- Launches March 4th at 5 am EST/ 10 am GMT/ 9 pm AEDT

 

 

7 thoughts on “Science Fiction”

  1. Hi guys
    I hope to participate and learn more
    Rob

  2. Hi Guys, I’d love to run a panel on zoom. Developing believable aliens. All too often the aliens in science fiction are either humans with bad nose jobs or make no sense biologically. This panel will explore the science and logic of making realistic alien species for use in science fiction. What do you chaps think?

    1. RichardWhite says:

      Stephen, I like it. Email me at info@litcon.org `Ritchie

    2. Phoebe Darqueling says:

      Hi Stephen! I (Phoebe the Sci Fi genre manager) would love to have you host a panel about aliens 🙂 I have a blog hop about things beyond Earth, but a panel would be great, too.

  3. Ira Nayman says:

    Hi. I would be interested in being on a panel or two. Is there a formal process to sign up as a participant?

    1. Heidi Angell says:

      Yes, purchase the panel in the shop and this will get you added to the panel and provide us your email so you will get the info on next steps.

  4. Phoebe Darqueling says:

    Just to clarify, you use the shop function to register for panels, but there is no up front charge. If you can make a donation we appreciate it, and we put that money toward advertising the event and the convention in general.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *